<< back to Monash Engineering

Evolution of courses


Establishment of the Bachelor of Engineering course.

In the first year the BE consists of a common year for all first year students made up of three subjects: Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics.



Common first year of the BE changes to four subjects instead of three. These subjects are: Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Engineering.


The Faculty of Engineering becomes departmentalised, with the establishment of the Departments of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. There is also a smaller Department of Applied Mechanics headed by the then Dean, Ken Hunt.


Monash University enrols its first two female engineering students.

Ken McNaughton is the first student to graduate with a Master of Engineering Science from Monash University.


The first undergraduate class in Engineering graduates from Monash University. This graduating class consisted of just three students: David Williamson, Peter Annal and Geoffrey Watson.


Nhan Levan and William George Wells are the first to graduate with a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Engineering.


Willis Henry Connolly (chairman and general manager of the State Electricity Commission of Victoria) is awarded an honorary Doctor of Engineering.


The first Open Day is held at Monash University.


The Department of Applied Mechanics merges with the Department of Mechanical Engineering.



Njoman Soelaksmi is the first female graduate in Engineering at Monash University. She graduates with a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours in electrical engineering). See Women in Engineering.


Compulsory workshop practice course is established in 1964 for all first year engineering students, followed by a vacation work requirement for all.



The Department of Materials Engineering is established.


The Curriculum Advisory Committee (CAC) for Monash University devises a list of aims that a university engineering course should meet. In September 1970 a meeting is held to determine Monash University’s performance in relation to these aims.



The academic year is restructured, changing from the traditional three semester system to a two semester system.


A coursework component for the Masters of Engineering Science is offered for the first time.



Mary Gani becomes the first female engineering PhD graduate. See Women in Engineering.


Master of Transport introduced.



Changes are made to the entry requirements for the BE course at Monash. The Victorian University Advisory Committee guide for 1979 entry to Monash Engineering lists preferred entry subjects as: English, Physics, Chemistry, and Pure and Applied Mathematics. However, students can also apply and be accepted without meeting all of the maths and science subject requirements.



Introduction of combined BE degrees, including the Bachelor of Engineering/Bachelor of Science consecutive degree, Bachelor of Engineering/Bachelor of Economics and Bachelor of Engineering/Bachelor of Laws.



Review of the Discipline of Engineering is released. The Williams Report, as it was known, concluded that overall Australia had a good engineering education system that should be made better; and that engineering was generally viewed by students as difficult and unexciting.

BE course is restructured as a result of the review, from a pass by year system to a pass by unit system.

The Department of Electrical Engineering is renamed the Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering.



Introduction of the Bachelor of Engineering/Bachelor of Arts double degree.



Monash Clayton merges with the Chisholm Institute of Technology in 1989 and Gippsland College in 1991. Three separate undergraduate engineering courses are now offered.



Sunway Campus Malaysia opens.



International partnerships formed with China and India.



Merger of the Department of Physics and Department of Materials Engineering to form the School of Physics and Materials Engineering.


monash engineering